Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Using Servoy to administrate the content of your website? Discuss all webrelated Servoy topics on this forum!

Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Postby Robert Huber » Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:30 pm

Hi All

I would like users to enter a domain like www.hello.com and a Servoy Web Solution is started? How can this be accomplished?

Best regards,
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Re: Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Postby Harjo » Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:13 am

place an index.html, with something like this:

Code: Select all
<html>
<head>
<META HTTP-EQUIV=Refresh CONTENT="0; URL=http://myserver:8080/servoy-webclient/solutions/solution/myWebSolution">
</head>
<body>
<span style="display:none"> servoy-webclient WebSolution </span>
</body>
</html>
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Postby Robert Huber » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:04 pm

Hi Harjo

That is what we did, but to be honest, I hoped someone has even a more direct way to do it, but may be redirect IS the solution.

Regards,
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Re: Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Postby Harjo » Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:12 pm

there are lot of ways to accomplish this, you can work with redirect's iFrames, you name it.....
Harjo Kompagnie
ServoyCamp
Servoy Certified Developer
Servoy Valued Professional
SAN Developer
Harjo
 
Posts: 4321
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 11:42 pm
Location: DEN HAM OV, The Netherlands

Re: Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Postby Robert Huber » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:01 pm

What I actually was wondering - just for my knowledge - whether all possibilities go via the (static) web site location of the apache web server, i. e. for example on OS X Server /Library/WebServer/Sites/<website>. Of course there is nothing wrong with the mentioned solution, it's very ok :-)

Harjo wrote:there are lot of ways to accomplish this, you can work with redirect's iFrames, you name it.....
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland

Re: Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Postby ngervasi » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:27 pm

Hi Robert, you can have multiple virtual hosts and each one can point to a different solution, the best approach in my opinion is to use an iFrame in the main index.html of the virtual host, checkout my 2008 Servoy World presentation, you can download it from my website: http://www.sintpro.com/downloads_eng.php
Nicola Gervasi
sintpro.com
SAN Partner
ngervasi
 
Posts: 1485
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2004 12:47 pm
Location: Arezzo, Italy

Re: Starting a Servoy Web Solution by entering a domain name

Postby Robert Huber » Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:06 pm

Thanks, Nicola, I will have a look at it.

ngervasi wrote:Hi Robert, you can have multiple virtual hosts and each one can point to a different solution, the best approach in my opinion is to use an iFrame in the main index.html of the virtual host, checkout my 2008 Servoy World presentation, you can download it from my website: http://www.sintpro.com/downloads_eng.php
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland


Return to Web Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests