IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution? RESOLVED

Questions and answers on designing your Servoy solutions, database modelling and other 'how do I do this' that don't fit in any of the other categories

IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution? RESOLVED

Postby joe26 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 9:46 pm

IOS seems to be the bottleneck on code with 7.x servoy. I realize it just wasnted designed for it, but IOS appears to be locked down.

Are there working solutions for the Ipad or Iphone?

Thanks!
--Joe.
Last edited by joe26 on Tue Jun 19, 2018 11:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
joe26
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:30 pm

Re: IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution?

Postby swingman » Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:44 pm

Hi Joe,

You are right the Servoy Smart Client does not run on iOS. From Servoy 8.0 you can use the NG-Client.

The code-base can stay largely the same, in my case about 5% of the code will need changing.
The big gotcha is that you have to create new CSS style-sheets for your app. Don't get put off if your app looks odd at first, once you have built a new style sheet the NG app will look nicer than the corresponding Smart-Client app.

If you want an app to work well on iPhone you will need to rebuild layouts to make them responsive.

Hope this helps,

Christian
Christian Batchelor
Certified Servoy Developer
Batchelor Associates Ltd, London, UK
http://www.batchelorassociates.co.uk

http://www.postgresql.org - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
swingman
 
Posts: 1472
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:20 am
Location: London

Re: IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution?

Postby joe26 » Wed Apr 25, 2018 10:13 pm

Thanks, Christian!

I was using the web client for the mobile platform, and IOS is unresponsive to most of my efforts. It also appears that there may be a Cross Domain issue going on, even between the client and server when using https. I can get the a ipad mini to show me a javascript alert message, but over https, it remains silent. The addition of a CORS compliant header hasn't been tested yet, and currently installing 8.2.3 and we'll see how that goes.

It does help to know that it works on IOS.

Thanks again!
--Joe.
joe26
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:30 pm

Re: IOS with Servoy. Is it a workable solution?

Postby joe26 » Wed May 02, 2018 11:34 pm

IOS does not maintain focus, unless you never leave the Entry Field.

I only needed one field; but to make it work, I needed two fields.

Both fields shared the same function with different local variables as dataproviders.

When input has been processed, reset the OTHER destination field for focus, and then switch focus there.

The next time, it will use the other field's focus and maintains the onscreen keyboard. I'm hoping this doesn't break in 8.2.3.

if (event.getElementName() == 'genericin'){
forms['main_view'].genericInput2 = '';
forms[main_view'].elements['genericin2'].requestFocus();
} else {
forms['main_view'].genericInput = '';
forms['main_view'].elements['genericin'].requestFocus();
}

Not so ugly, but there it is.

--Joe.
joe26
 
Posts: 172
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 10:30 pm


Return to Programming with Servoy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests