Dataprovider via relation does not exist

Questions and answers on designing your Servoy solutions, database modelling and other 'how do I do this' that don't fit in any of the other categories

Dataprovider via relation does not exist

Postby pitc » Fri Jun 18, 2021 6:04 pm

This has me stumped:
I have a column in a grid defined as a relation (e.g. abc_to_xyz.name) where abc and xyx are the names of the tables.
The error shows as an unresolved dataprovider in the designer.
In the problems console the error message is that the dataprovider does not exist.
The relation is correct. The column exists in the table.
It seems that the project clean does not correctly search and find the column.
I did have to delete the relation and redo it so that may trigger some kind of new uuid I suppose and that might cause the failure.
Deleting the grid column and then adding it back in does not resolved the dataprovider.
I have 5 relations like this that have unresolved dataproviders.
The grid 'myfoundset' is set to the separate foundset on the left side of the relation (e.g. 'abc' here).
How can I get rid of the warning and or fix the problem?

Tom
Using Servoy 2021.03.0.3642
Tom
prospect-saas.com
pitc
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: Dataprovider via relation does not exist

Postby swingman » Sat Jun 19, 2021 7:42 am

Hi Tom,

Sounds odd, any chance you created the column outside Servoy?
Then there will be a warning that the column is missing from Servoy's table data providers but you can do a Quick Fix to add it to Servoy...
Christian Batchelor
Certified Servoy Developer
Batchelor Associates Ltd, London, UK
http://www.batchelorassociates.co.uk

http://www.postgresql.org - The world's most advanced open source database.
User avatar
swingman
 
Posts: 1377
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 10:20 am
Location: London

Re: Dataprovider via relation does not exist

Postby pitc » Sat Jun 19, 2021 4:10 pm

Hi Christian,
No the grid column is an aggregation - simple count done via the Servoy IDE.
It is like there is some IDE checker that might have 'remembered' an id and maybe I deleted the count and added it back in and it does not match?
When I go into the IDE and select the aggregation for the column dataprovider it correctly gets it but as soon as I lose focus on that dataprovider the checker reverts back to the unresolved.
When I run the application the data in the column is correct. So it must be related to the checker (anyone know the name of this checker and if I can delve into its mysteries - is it part of eclipse?)
Tom
prospect-saas.com
pitc
 
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2019 2:22 pm
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Re: Dataprovider via relation does not exist

Postby mboegem » Wed Jun 23, 2021 11:08 am

pitc wrote:t is like there is some IDE checker that might have 'remembered' an id and maybe I deleted the count and added it back in and it does not match?

This can not be the case.
All relations and dataproviders are referenced by name not by ID.

Off-topic... Referenced by UUID are:
- forms
- valuelists
- functions (methods) assigned to event handlers
- media (ie. media assigned to label element. If used in another way, like a url media:///myImage.png, they are referenced by name of course)

Something that might be the issue though is that the relation is defined in another solution/module that is not in the child module-structure of the solution that holds this particular form.

Hope that helps
_____________________
Marc Boegem
Solutiative / JBS Group, Partner
• Servoy Certified Developer
• Servoy Valued Professional
• Freelance SAN Developer

Image
User avatar
mboegem
 
Posts: 1573
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:34 pm
Location: Amsterdam


Return to Programming with Servoy

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

cron