getColumnName always returns lower case

Questions and answers regarding general SQL and backend databases

getColumnName always returns lower case

Postby gstein » Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:58 pm

It seems the dataset.getColumnName method always returns a lower case value, even if the field in the table is upper case or title case. Is there anything I can do to get it the way it is written in the table?
gstein
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:38 pm

Postby Jan Blok » Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:09 pm

We are indeed doing to lowercase, but we are unsure if we could change this, becouse existing solution may depent on it.
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby gstein » Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:26 pm

Jan,

Why not change it so there is an option to convert it to lower case or to keep it the way it is -- and then set the default to convert. That way it won't affect existing apps but the new functionality will be available.
gstein
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Jul 27, 2004 2:38 pm

Postby Jan Blok » Fri Jan 06, 2006 2:10 pm

It will be in the casing as the database provides in Servoy 3.0
Jan Blok
Servoy
Jan Blok
 
Posts: 2684
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2003 11:15 am
Location: Amsterdam

Postby Robert Huber » Sat Jan 07, 2006 6:43 pm

Hello All

I would like to support that idea, for all the things which are now automatically converted to lower case, e. g. for relationships which are also set to all lowercase now.

Many thanks, Robert

gstein wrote:Jan,

Why not change it so there is an option to convert it to lower case or to keep it the way it is -- and then set the default to convert. That way it won't affect existing apps but the new functionality will be available.
Robert Huber
7r gmbh, Switzerland
SAN Developer
www.seven-r.ch
User avatar
Robert Huber
 
Posts: 1239
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 6:52 pm
Location: Schaffhausen, Switzerland


Return to SQL Databases

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests

cron