Setup of GIT in servoy

Q&A regarding installation and issues getting started with Servoy

Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby alasdairs » Tue Jan 02, 2024 5:07 pm

Dear Forum. Happy New year!! I have recently picked up Servoy, and very keen to learn more .. I have been trying to work on a new project recently and I'm wondering what the best way of setting up git would be in order that I can collaborate with another programmer? We need to be able to sync our Servoy applications as far as the whole project as well as dbi changes. Is that possible? I have been advised that we should use Sourcetree and Unfuddle, but just wanted to check what other people use and what the best practice is..
I tried setting up the files from my servoy workspace manually with git desktop a while ago, but there were a few issues. Is that the way that most people do it when working in teams or is there an easier way?

Thanks!
Software Engineer
alasdairs
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2023 10:06 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby sean » Tue Jan 02, 2024 5:32 pm

Alasdairs, Welcome to Servoy in 2024!

If you registered recently, you should have received a ServoyCloud account. This includes git hosting and when you sign into Servoy Developer, it will also connect to your project (via a simplified, built-in git client).

However, Servoy works with any repository and git client. If you use another client you can simply choose file > import > general > existing projects into workspace. Select your projects found in your local repo folder.

I hope this helps.

Best,
Sean
Software Engineer
Servoy USA
sean
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 6:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby mboegem » Tue Jan 02, 2024 5:45 pm

Hi alasdairs,

Happy New year and welcome to the forum!

Servoy and GIT will work nicely together.
By default Servoy will store all its files in the workspace you assigned during install, including DBI files.

GIT is just a versioning control system and it doesn't really matter what GIT provider or client you are using.
If you are not familiar with GIT, I'd just create a free account on GitHub or Bitbucket (not sure about unfuddle having this) and start playing around with some text files.
You can use the GIT client of your choice, this could be Sourcetree (free), but there are many others like GitTower, GitKraken. You could even use command line and not use any client.
Once you know your way around, you can easily start using GIT within Servoy, Eclipse (which Servoy is based on) even has a GIT plugin, so that would be another possibility as a client.

Setup of GIT and Servoy is another step.
Personally I keep my GIT repositories in a central location on my machine.
Then I install Servoy and an empty workspace and import the repository from the central location into my workspace as a reference.
That way Servoy will use the files in the repository.

It's also possible to use your Workspace folder as a GIT repository, but I'll leave that explanation to one of the fellow forum users who is following that practice.

Hope this helps you start exploring
Marc Boegem
Solutiative / JBS Group, Partner
Servoy Specialist
• Servoy Certified Developer
• Servoy Valued Professional
• Freelance Developer

Image
User avatar
mboegem
 
Posts: 1759
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:34 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby ProRM » Mon Jan 08, 2024 8:49 pm

Hello, hello and great 2024 for all!

I think there should be a checklist and short video on how to setup git for Servoy, as this is something that most users face and often have problems with.

Best regards,
User avatar
ProRM
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Uruguay

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby sean » Mon Jan 08, 2024 9:07 pm

Hi Juan, Happy New Year!

Thanks for your feedback....and did you just volunteer to make a tutorial? ;-)

Seriously though, we'll put it on the list!

Best,
Sean
Software Engineer
Servoy USA
sean
 
Posts: 378
Joined: Mon May 21, 2007 6:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby alasdairs » Tue Jan 09, 2024 10:07 am

Thank you all!

I wasn't able to figure out how to get servoy cloud up and running, but managed to setup the git repo in a fresh workspace.

I do have one issue though. When pulling from origin after someone has altered database tables or added columns, it doesn't seem to work. I assumed it would, considering that when you import a solution in servoy it updates the database. Is there something I need to do in servoy after pulling from origin to fix this issue?

Thanks,
Alasdair
Software Engineer
alasdairs
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2023 10:06 pm
Location: The Internet

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby bodnarescu.diana » Tue Jan 09, 2024 10:49 am

Hi Alasdair,

After you have your updated dbi files, you need to sync these dbi files with the local database.
You can see how it is done here: https://wiki.servoy.com/display/DOCS/Up ... +DBI+Files, in the section "Syncing DBI Files with the Local Database".

Diana
Diana Bodnarescu
Servoy Valued Professional
Freelance Servoy Developer
bodnarescu.diana
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 10:43 am

Re: Setup of GIT in servoy

Postby ProRM » Wed Jan 10, 2024 11:23 pm

Hi Sean, Happy 2024!

After your super fantastic new tutorial (and video) on git with Servoy, I promise to do one in Spanish.

Best regards,
User avatar
ProRM
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 10:24 pm
Location: Uruguay


Return to I'm just getting started

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests